The real scandal of the Ballon d’Or

If the coronation of Lionel Messi at the expense of Robert Lewandowski has sparked many controversies, this Ballon d’Or 2021 is undoubtedly less questionable than the 2013 edition.

Each edition of the Ballon d’Or is accompanied by its share of controversies. The identity of the winner is never really unanimous and this is obviously even more true of the podium. However, the second place of Robert Lewandowski, Monday, has rarely provoked so much indignation. As a result of the 64 goals scored by the Pole this year. A performance more seen since 2014 and the 69 goals of Cristiano Ronaldo.

Read also: Ballon d’Or: France Football reacts to the controversy

Many teammates of the Bayern Munich striker have also stepped up to the plate to castigate the final verdict of the Ballon d’Or. Thomas Müller thus split a long post on LinkedIn. The opportunity for the German world champion to explain that he was not surprised by the result. The fault with the precedent of 2013 marked by the third place of Franck Ribéry behind Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. And this despite the grand slam achieved by Bayern Munich.

Changed votes

And the coronation of Cristiano Ronaldo had all the more provoked outrage in the Bavarian ranks as FIFA, which then organized the Ballon d’Or with France Football, had postponed the closing dates for the votes, allowing the play-offs for the World Cup to be taken into account. Two meetings in which CR7 had scored no less than four goals against Sweden. Didier Deschamps described this decision as “Very, very weird”, adding: “I don’t understand how we can change a rule along the way. “

Another controversy erupted shortly after the results were announced. Several coaches including those of Albania, Kuwait and Fiji had indicated that their votes for the Ballon d’Or had been changed, suspecting FIFA to be in the maneuver to favor Cristiano Ronaldo. This time, France Football is safe from such a controversy, the monthly taking care not to publish the details of the votes.

Read also:Ballon d’Or: A “historical fraud” confirmedBallon d’Or: Le Graët denounces an injusticeBallon d’Or: a record for PSGThe detailed classification of the Ballon d’Or

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button