Golden ball: Modric, humiliation –

2018 Ballon d’Or winner, Luka Modric was one of the 30 nominated for the 2021 edition but finished last in the standings with no points awarded!

Named among the 30 players for the BO 2021, Cesar Azpilicueta, the captain of Chelsea winner of the Champions League, and Luka Modric, the winner of the election in 2018, finished in 29th and therefore last place, probably with no points. During the previous edition, Joao Félix, Marquinhos and Donny van de Beek had not received any votes. Isco and Hugo Lloris had experienced the same indifference in 2018.

Gerard Moreno, winner of the Europa League with Villarreal, is notably ahead of Modric. The Spanish striker is 26th in the company of Nicolo Barella, Mason Mount, Ruben Dias (although he was voted best player in the Premier League last season). Harry kane, 23rd, Pedri, 24th and probable Kopa Trophy, Phil Foden, 25th, collected a few more points.

23rd: Harry Kane (Tottenham)

24th: Pedri (Barça)

25th: Phil Foden (Man City)

26th: Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Ruben Dias (Man City), Gerard Moreno (Villareal)

29th: Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea) and Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button